Eligibility and How to Join


Eligibility Requirements

Participation in the OK-First program is limited to Oklahoma agencies with jurisdictional responsibility and authority in maintaining public safety. In addition, officials from public safety agencies located in counties bordering Oklahoma may also participate in the program at the Assistant Certification level. 

Participants must be employed by, appointed to, or be an official volunteer of an eligible agency. Eligible agencies include:

  • Local, municipal, state, regional, tribal, or federal government agencies,
  • Schools (K12 and university), and
  • Non-profit disaster relief agencies (e.g., Red Cross).

Due to the nature of the funding that supports this program, for-profit entities are NOT eligible to participate in OK-First.

OK-First Certification Levels

OK-First offers two certification levels:

  • OK-First Certified
  • OK-First Assistant Certified

Each agency participating in OK-First is required to have at least 1 active participant at the OK-First Certified level. Please see the OK-First Participant Agreement for more details on eligibility, training requirements, testing, and access privileges for the two certification levels.

How Do I Become OK-First Certified or Assistant Certified?

For an individual to become OK-First Certified or Assistant Certified you must work for an eligible agency and complete the following:

  • Register as a new OK-First member (if you have done this before do not do it again - please email us instead at okfirst@mesonet.org)
  • Review the OK-First Participant Agreement, complete the final page, and return the final page to OK-First by scan/email (see final page for instructions)
  • Allow OK-First several business days to review your information, approve your participation, and send you enrollment instructions
  • Enroll in the OK-First Certification or Assistant Certification Course at http://learn.mesonet.org (pending available courses and space)
  • Pass the OK-First Certification or Assistant Certification Test with a 70% or higher

Maintaining Certification

To maintain OK-First certification, OK-First participants must successfully complete re-certification courses:

  • No less than once every 18 months for OK-First Certified participants
  • No less than once every 24 month for OK-First Assistant Certified participants

Failure to uphold these training requirements will result in a loss of OK-First certification and data access.